Thursday , December 14 2017
Home / Our Town / In the Classroom / Several Martinez schools on ‘Gold Ribbon Schools’ list

Several Martinez schools on ‘Gold Ribbon Schools’ list

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson announced that 758 elementary schools in California have been selected as 2016 California Gold Ribbon Schools, an awards program which is temporarily taking the place of the California Distinguished Schools Program. The program recognizes some of the state’s most exemplary public schools. Contra Costa County is home to 37 of the elementary schools selected, most of any county in northern California.

Three schools within the Martinez Unified School District made the Gold Ribbon list: John Muir Elementary, Las Juntas Elementary and John Muir Elementary.

“The elementary schools in our county being recognized as Gold Ribbon Schools have some truly amazing programs that can serve as models for other schools around the state and country,” said Karen Sakata, County Superintendent of Schools.

Schools applied for the award based on a model program their school has adopted that includes standards-based activities, projects, strategies, and practices that can be replicated by other local educational agencies. The award is recognizing elementary schools this year and middle and high schools in 2017.

Check Also


White House photographer Pete Souza holds court at the Castro

BY HELEN LAME’ Long time Chief Official White House photographer Pete Souza, who worked under ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>