County’s Democratic Leadership elects new officers

The Democratic Leadership representing over 311,000 registered Democrats in Contra Costa County elected new officers by acclamation at its reorganization meeting on Jan. 19, the eve of Republican President Trump’s Inauguration. Also elected were members of the Executive Committee and California Democratic Party Convention delegates – these are two-year terms.

“We are at the precipice of a constitutional crisis. We must stand united as Democrats to fight against Presidential Executive Orders that erode our constitutional protections. Most importantly, we must “build a bench” of progressive democratic leaders and hold elected officials accountable to the agenda of the democratic values that protects the principles of religious liberty, equality, and compassion that our nation was founded upon,” says María Alegría, Chair of the Democratic Party of Contra Costa County.

“This is truly an extraordinary time for our nation, for the Democratic Party and for our communities. We must remain vigilant and continue to speak out and stand up for our democratic values. Let’s Lace Up our Shoes and Organize!” said María Alegría.

The Officers are:  Chair, María Alegría, former Mayor of Pinole and lifelong human and immigrant rights activist; 1st Vice President, the Honorable Mike McGill, Central Contra Costa Sanitary District Board of Directors, Danville; 2nd Vice President, AnaMarie Avila Farias, recent Vice-Mayor of Martinez and Gubernatorial Appointee to the Board of the California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA); Controller, Greg Sanborn, C.P.A., Concord and Secretary, Diddo Clark, Attorney at Law, Walnut Creek.

Executive Committee members representing the following County Supervisorial Districts include: District 1, Michael Nye, Richmond; District 2, Carolyn Phinney, Orinda; District 3, Paul Seger, Oakley; District 4, Chuck Carpenter, Concord and District 5, Nadine Peyrucain, Martinez.

The Democratic Party in Contra Costa County (DPCCC), serves as the official governing body of the Democratic Party in Contra Costa County, in cooperation with the California Democratic Party and the Democratic National Committee. Its purpose is to promote development of the Democratic Party in Contra Costa County, register voters as Democrats and promote and support the election of Democrats.

The Democratic Party of Contra Costa County holds monthly meetings that are open to all members of the Democratic Party. Monthly meetings are held on the third Thursday from 7-9 p.m. at JFK University, Room S209, 100 Ellinwood Way, Pleasant Hill.

For more information, visit

About tribune-admin

Check Also

MLB’s Hall of Fame selectors need to adapt to Changing Times

BY J.A. SCHWARTZ The Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) is responsible for the election …