Home / Featured / Delegate election nears

Delegate election nears

cadem-logoMARTINEZ, Calif. – Several Martinez residents have entered the race to become delegates for the California Democratic Party, with the election taking place Jan. 8, 2017.

Delegates are selected at state or local levels, with the understanding they will represent their communities in voting for a Democratic nominee for the nation’s highest office, among other duties. They are selected every two years, whereupon seven women and seven men are chosen per area.

In Martinez, those in the running for an Assembly District 14 delegate seat include: Jim Araby, Ryan Apperson, Harry Baker, Edi Birsan, Gabriel Haaland, Dan Jameyson, Satinder Malhi, Amy Hines, AnaMarie Farias, Cheryll Grover, Sue Guest, Amy Slovick, and Sue Hamill.

Registered democrats in Assembly District 14, which includes areas of Concord, Martinez, Pittsburg and Vallejo, are encouraged to come out to vote on Jan. 8. The selection meeting will take place at 10 a.m. at 1308 Roman Way, Martinez.

Food, drink and voting help will be provided at the door.

For more information, call (925) 228-0161 or email joe@cclabor.net.

Check Also

Iguodala’s steal seals Warriors Game 2 comeback win 114-111

BY DANIEL GLUSKOTER Andre Iguodala’s walk-off strip steal from Damian Lillard with four seconds remaining ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *